Ashok Gautham Jadatharan

Status update - 2022 Sep 23

Ditching Obsidian for Logseq

I discovered that it is not kosher to use Obsidian for work-notes even if I don't share it with anyone. The phrasing in their EULA suggests that if it even indirectly contributes to revenue in a corporate setting, I should buy a commercial license. $50 a year is a little too steep for me. I did pay for a catalyst license several months ago since it was a one-time $25 event.

Logseq is FOSS and perfectly usable. It isn't without its flaws though. It doesn't have the polish that obsidian does. Documentation is unorganized and patchy - which is ironic. One needs to invest quite some time to use it effectively. For instance, I miss Obsidian dataview since logseq query and advanced-query - though built-in - has a significantly steeper learning curve. I also miss the UX of obsidian - but logseq does give me a better outlining experience.

Stopping any use of nootropics

I started using nootropics a few months before. But my family noticed that while I was doing better at work, I was becoming very short-tempered and aggressive.

Added an early-morning routine

I have picked up a new habit to substitute the nootropics. I am waking up around 6 to 6:30 and going for a walk/jog in a park nearby. Then I use my phone to look at any commitments I have in the day and put them down on my calendar. At this point, I am using Business Calendar 2 Planner which gives me a more pleasant interface over Google Calendar.

#logseq #nootropics #self-development